Wednesdays at A’s
Baptiste Brévart and Guillaume Ettlinger

28,00

Pre-order – available from 21 October 2021

The New York flat of the artist Arleen Schloss saw, from October 1979 onwards, the experiments of an improbable tribe between no wave, sound poetry and visual arts. These were Wednesdays at A’s, whose hybrid and radical programme filled the loft at 330 Broome Street every week for eighteen months with concerts, performances, readings or exhibitions, always driven by a festive demand.

To announce the events, dozens of flyers are made on the photocopier by invited artists and friends. Drawings, collages, détournements, typographical games and handwritten annotations thus populate a colourful set of traces destined to be ephemeral, although already somewhat fetishised by the protagonists. These flyers tell the story of the Wednesdays at A’s adventure in chronological order, just as they bear witness to the preoccupations of a fertile period when bodies and machines met, beyond genres and disciplines, in a city on the brink of bankruptcy.

Baptiste Brévart and Guillaume Ettlinger met Arleen Schloss in New York in 2011. Together they began an archaeological study of this evanescent memory and collected a large number of exceptional and unpublished documents. With the valuable contribution of Pauline Chevalier and Guillaume Loizillon, they retrace a parallel history of the arts in New York in the 1980s.

Anamosa (with the support of Fondation Antoine de Galbert)
Texts by Baptiste Brévart, Guillaume Ettlinger, Pauline Chevalier, Guillaume Loizillon
Published in october 2021
French edition
17 x 22 cm
192 pages
ISBN: 978-2-38191-037-6

Wednesdays at A’s
Baptiste Brévart et Guillaume Ettlinger

28,00

Précommande – disponible à partir du 21 octobre 2021

L’appartement new-yorkais de l’artiste Arleen Schloss a vu se succéder, à partir d’octobre 1979, les expérimentations d’une tribu improbable entre no wave, poésie sonore et arts visuels. Ce sont les Wednesdays at A’s, dont le programme hybride et radical emplit chaque semaine, dix-huit mois durant, le loft du 330 Broome Street de concerts, performances, lectures ou expositions, toujours animés par une exigence festive.

Pour annoncer les événements, des dizaines de flyers sont réalisés à la photocopieuse par les artistes invités et les amis. Dessins, collages, détournements, jeux typographiques et annotations manuscrites peuplent ainsi un ensemble bigarré de traces vouées à l’éphémère, quoique déjà quelque peu fétichisées par les protagonistes. Ces flyers racontent au plus près l’aventure des Wednesdays at A’s, de façon chronologique, comme ils témoignent des préoccupations d’une période fertile où les corps et les machines se rencontrent, au-delà des genres et des disciplines, dans une ville au bord de la faillite.

Baptiste Brévart et Guillaume Ettlinger ont rencontré Arleen Schloss à New York en 2011. Ils ont entamé ensemble un travail archéologique sur cette mémoire évanescente et ils ont rassemblé un grand nombre de documents exceptionnels et inédits. Avec la précieuse contribution de Pauline Chevalier et Guillaume Loizillon, ils retracent ainsi une histoire parallèle des arts à New York dans les années 1980.

Anamosa (avec le soutien de la Fondation Antoine de Galbert)
Textes : Baptiste Brévart, Guillaume Ettlinger, Pauline Chevalier, Guillaume Loizillon
Date de parution : octobre 2021
Edition française
17 x 22 cm
192 pages
ISBN : 978-2-38191-037-6