Philippe De Gobert
From the marvellous in architecture to the photographic tale

24,00

In Le Havre, Philippe De Gobert continues the singular and polymorphous work that characterises him, between architecture, sculpture, model building and photography. By putting the world in miniature and reconstructing it from scratch, he sketches a poetic portrait of the city rebuilt by Auguste Perret, a sort of double that is disturbingly real, and reinvents the history of its rebirth.

As a preamble to this “photographic tale”, Philippe De Gobert invites us to share his vision of the “marvellous in architecture”: “a playful and poetic approach to architecture, with its clumsiness and errors, concocted seriously by an artist, without the rigour that a scientist or art historian would have applied to it”.

This catalogue is published on the occasion of the exhibition Philippe De Gobert. Du merveilleux en architecture au conte photographique at the MuMa musée d’art moderne André Malraux, Le Havre from 29 May to 7 November 2021.

Co-edition Octopus and MuMa Le Havre (with the support of Fondation Antoine de Galbert)
Authors: Annette Haudiquet, Septembre Tiberghien, Philippe De Gobert, Joseph Abram, Damien Sausset, Julien Foucart
Published in may 2021
Bilingual english/french
21 x 29 cm
168 pages, 70 ill.
ISBN: 978-2-900314-26-5

Philippe De Gobert
Du merveilleux en architecture au conte photographique

24,00

Philippe De Gobert poursuit au Havre ce travail singulier et polymorphe qui le caractérise, entre architecture, sculpture, construction de maquettes et photographie. Mettant le monde en miniature et le reconstruisant de toutes pièces, il esquisse de la ville rebâtie par Auguste Perret un portrait plein de poésie, une sorte de double troublant de vraisemblance et réinvente l’histoire de sa renaissance.

En préambule à ce « conte photographique », Philippe De Gobert nous invite à partager sa vision du « merveilleux en architecture » : « une approche ludique et poétique de l’architecture, avec ses maladresses et ses erreurs, concoctée avec sérieux par un artiste, sans la rigueur qu’y aurait appliquée un scientifique ou un historien de l’art ».

Ca catalogue est publié à l’occasion de l’exposition Philippe De Gobert. Du merveilleux en architecture au conte photographique au MuMa musée d’art moderne André Malraux, Le Havre du 29 mai au 7 novembre 2021.

Co-édition Octopus et MuMa Le Havre (avec le soutien de la Fondation Antoine de Galbert)
Auteurs : Annette Haudiquet, Septembre Tiberghien, Philippe De Gobert, Joseph Abram, Damien Sausset, Julien Foucart
Date de parution : mai 2021
Edition français / anglais
21 x 29 cm
168 pages, 70 illustrations
ISBN : 978-2-900314-26-5